February 10, 2009

I still have a blog, really.

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:56 pm by carolynresearch

Today’s lecture in Greg’s consulting course involved a couple visitors talking about working in start-ups. They were shocked, shocked, that we didn’t all have active blogs. I don’t know why I never got into blogging, but after that, I figured I should put together a post. Maybe two.

I have some research thoughts to post, but they will take time to make even half-baked. I’ll go more speculative first.

I bought myself a Sony reader (the PRS 505). Lovely little device, weighs a lot less than the several hundred books it can carry, and doesn’t kill nearly as many trees as trying to print out the .pdf for every paper I’d like to read.

The high school girls I tutor are fascinated by it – enough that they let me ramble on about electronic ink systems, file formats, and so on. It’s little devices like this, which build on the success of technology we don’t even see as technology anymore, like, say, the book, that excite me. The web and what we can do with it is cool enough, but I’ve been waiting for paper 2.0.

I marked an assignment with hand-drawn UML diagrams last week. Somehow, I think this is connected.

Leave a Reply

